I stay hidden in the holes I know you never step on,

like a snake dodging the

substance

you sit out for me.

 

I rattle dangerous intuition

warning you to

keep your distance,

hissing louder the closer you get,

but you continue laying contaminants

and I sit back to store up on venom.

 

And I will be forced to strike in self-defense

with my cold-blooded-animal instincts

when I am backed into a corner,

backed against the wall

merely trying to survive.

 

I will sink deep into your skin

with my toxic teeth

unleashing every last drop of my poison

into your bones

                            until

                                   you

                                       fall.

 

And although you may survive my bite,

like you have a time or two before,

I will remind you

not to keep playing with snakes.

